This Is a Test (Podcast Prototype #1)

So I’ve said it before, but I have trouble focused enough to write thorough, coherent criticism of something. That’s why this blog updates as infrequently as it does.

To try and combat this, I’ve decided to go the route my long-suffering high school theater teacher Pam Slawson tried: to have me record my thoughts out loud as opposed to writing them out. This is not a promise that all future updates will be podcasts, or that they’ll even be super frequent. But it will, if nothing else, allow for a little more immediacy.

This is a real shot-in-the-dark stab at podcasting. It’s about 20 minutes long, and I recorded it by myself on the Voice Memos app on my iPhone in my dining room. I was worried it might sound too echo-y, but it sounded okay to me. Apologies in advance if it doesn’t to you. I don’t currently have any ‘professional’ sound editing software or recording equipment, and I’m still figuring out the process of posting these things. The easiest way seemed to be through SoundCloud, since I already an account with them to keep track of other podcasters/musicians I follow, and they actually have a tool that lets you embed their audio player in WordPress.

This recording is about 20 minutes long and covers my reactions to the two short films my good friend Will Raisl recently starred in: Creamed and Cool Guy. (Links included in the titles) Again, this my by myself, no notes, on an iPhone in my dining room. I am planning to record with a friend this coming weekend (someone with actual equipment and a personality), so who knows? Maybe this could become a regular thing.

Let me know what you guys think.

Leave a Reply

